Masculine and Feminine Cosmic Principles

The apparent duality between the Existent and Nature actually resolves itself into Oneness as we have seen. But there is a truth to the dual functions that represent two aspects of one reality, what we may call a masculine and a feminine principle. Each of these corresponds to one of the major experiences of consciousness. The masculine corresponds to the unmoving supporting consciousness and the feminine the creative effective power of consciousness. Sri Aurobindo describes it thus: “we see the biune aspect of Self and Self-Power, then in the Person Aspect a dual Person emerges, Ishwara-Shakti, the Divine Self and Creator and the Divine Mother and Creatrix of the universe; there becomes apparent to us the mystery of the masculine and feminine cosmic Principles whose play and interaction are necessary for all creation.”

At the level of pure existence, these two principles are joined and One, but as the universe begins to manifest, the dual principles become active and distinguishable. Everything in Nature manifests through the power of this creative “Mother-Energy” which is known under various names to describe different views of this action “universal creatrix, Maya, Para-Prakriti, Chit-Shakti”. The Existent, the Ishwara or Purushottama, does not act separate from this power of Nature. “it is through her that the Being, the Self, the Ishwara, acts and he does nothing except by her; though his Will is implicit in her, it is she who works out all as the supreme Consciousness-Force who holds all souls and beings within her and as executive Nature; all exists and acts according to Nature, all is the Consciousness-Force manifesting and playing with the Being in millions of forms and movements into which she casts his existence.”

“One Being, one Reality as Self bases, supports, informs, as Purusha or Conscious Being experiences, as Ishwara wills, governs and possesses its world of manifestation created and kept in motion and action by its own Consciousness-Force or Self-Power, — Maya, Prakriti, Shakti.”

reference: Sri Aurobindo, The Life Divine, Book 2, Part I, Chapter 2, Brahman, Purusha, Ishwara–Maya, Prakriti, Shakti, pp. 356-357


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s